17 Must-Have Picture Books That Won Caldecott Medals

Each year, the Caldecott Medal is awarded to an artist of an outstanding picture book. Check out these new and classic award-winning titles.

Nov 07, 2018



17 Must-Have Picture Books That Won Caldecott Medals

Nov 07, 2018
The Caldecott Medal, named for children's illustrator Randolph Caldecott, was created in 1937 and honors "the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year," according to the American Library Association. If you're looking for an award-winning title for your child's home library, check out this list of classic and new Caldecott-winning titles — as well as this list of 9 Newbery Medal-winning books for kids.
Award Winners
Age 1
Age 8
Age 7
Age 6
Age 5
Age 4
Age 3
Age 2
Courage, Bravery, Heroism
Creativity and Imagination
Confidence and Self-Esteem
Early Learning
Feelings and Emotions
Helping Others
Guided Reading
Word Recognition
First Words
Early Reading
Kindness and Compassion